Permit Day

Today is the day I am heading off to the Roads and Maritime office to see about securing a permit to move the Pumpkin. I have our completed Safe Use Declaration and our Permit application. I am hoping this is a simple process as we are very much wanting to move the van this weekend. We are both very keen to get started on the gut and rebuild.

Our plan at this stage is to head over to our friendly Harvey Norman store and hit them up for as many large (read fridge or oven) boxes as we can and then make mock ups of the things we want in the van so we can play ‘house’ and see which configuration works best for us. The layout in the van at the moment seems very odd to me, and wont work for us so it fits in well with our intention for a full strip down and rebuild.


* UPDATE *

I have now visited the my friendly Services NSW office and made a little discovery. Whilst the Roads and Maritime office states that you can get an unregistered permit for up to 28days, and technically that is true, what they fail to tell you is that they don’t really let you pick how long you get your permit for. Rather it is based on the distance you plan to move the van. So if you are moving your van, say the 10kms that we are, then you get a day. Pick the day and move it then. Problem we want to move our van this weekend – but we have a prior commitment between 9am and 3pm Saturday and we have to extract the van from under an awning that we believe has been built around the van itself. Which day do we nominate???

Originally i asked for the permit from this Saturday to encompass this weekend AND next weekend in case we have any difficulties. But NO. I explained the situation to them and they said we could have three days. If we cant move her then we would have to come in and pay again for another permit. Sounds like double dipping to me. I know it is only $22… but still.

* UPDATE*

So this post has taken me a few days – sorry about that – but then it also isn’t the worlds most exciting post. Turns out our morning engagement is now postponed so we have the extra hours to negotiate the Princess Pumpkin out of her current home and get her back to our place. I am taking my camera out to et lots of happy snaps of this part of the adventure.

I have been nominated as site supervisor, safety officer, photographer and cuppa maker. Being pregnant is limiting my actual involvement at this stage which is a bit sad as I like to get in there and dirty.

Look out for the next blog entry … coming soon!

Leave a comment